Gloria and Emilio Estefan are 2019 Gershwin Prize recipients

Gloria and Emilio Estefan are the 2019 recipients of the Gershwin Prize for Popular Song.

The couple, who celebrated their 40th anniversary earlier this month, are the guiding forces behind Miami Sound Machine, responsible for a number of Latin-pop crossover hits.

Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden calls the Estefans, "The creative force behind the popularity of music steeped in the Latino culture. This dynamic couple’s professional and personal journey truly mirrors the American dream and we are so pleased to honor their musical legacy."

The Estefans' story of coming to the U.S. and finding success in their adopted country -- and becoming one of the most prominent couples in South Florida -- was the basis of the successful Broadway musical On Your Feet!

In March, their song "Rhythm Is Gonna Get You" was one of 25 recordings added to the National Recording Registry of the Library of Congress.

Previous Gershwin Prize honorees include Paul Simon, Billy Joel, Paul McCartney, Stevie Wonder and Carole King. (South Florida Sun Sentinel)

Big 95 · Waco - Temple - Killeen

Listen Now on iHeartRadio

outbrain pixel