America set to release a big box set

America looks back at their years with Capitol Records in an upcoming box set.

America: Classic Album Collection - The Capitol Years features the songs Dewey Bunnell and Gerry Beckley created after co-founder Dan Peek left the band and they changed labels.

  • Silent Letter, from 1979, marked their Capitol debut and was their final collaboration with producerGeorge Martin.
  • Alibi, from 1981, brought them new producers Matthew McCauley and Fred Mollin, and the backing of top L.A. sessionmen Waddy Wachtel and Leland Sklar, along with Toto's Steve LukatherMister Mister's Richard PageJ.D. Souther and the EaglesTimothy B. Schmit.
  • View From the Ground returned America to the top of the charts in 1982. There are contributions from Christopher CrossCarl Wilson of The Beach Boys, Toto's Jeff Porcaro, and Dean Parks.Onetime Argent guitarist Russ Ballard wrote and produced the Top 10 hit, "You Can Do Magic." 
  • Your Move, from 1984, was produced by Russ Ballard, who wrote six of its songs and co-wrote the Top 40 single "The Border" with Bunnell. 
  • Perspective, released in 1985, was a major departure as America employed synthesizers and drum machines. The single "Can't Fall Asleep to a Lullabye" features Steve Perry backing Bunnell's lead vocal.
  • In Concert was recorded live on June 1st, 1985 in Santa Barbara, California and packs such classics as "Horse With No Name," "Tin Man," "You Can Do Magic," "Sister Golden Hair," "The Border" and "Ventura Highway."

Big 95 Morning Show

Big 95 Morning Show

Want to know more about Big 95 Morning Show? Get their official bio, social pages and articles on Big 95! Read more


Content Goes Here