Styx announces new album release this summer

Styx announced Thursday afternoon that they will release a new album this summer.Crash of the Crown, their 17th studio album, is coming on June 18th.

Bassist and founding member Chuck Panozzo said, "I’m constantly amazed at how Tommy’s [Shaw] songwriting continues to connect with the social consciousness that spans across generations. Both he and [producer] Will [Evankovich] have been able to tap into the core elements of the human condition, which is something that’s not going to change that much in 50 years -- or even 500 years. That’s why Styx remains relevant after all this time, because we’re part of the human condition.”

The title track has been released and it’s the first Styx single to feature three different lead vocalists: Tommy ShawJames “JY” Young and keyboardist Lawrence Gowan.

Gowan said, “I’m always looking for the one different thing we can do and still have it be Styx. That’s the song I’m most proud of. The beauty of it is that it’s the culmination of all our talents crammed together into one song... I also got to use some gear I never thought I’d have the chance to play on a Styx record like Tommy’s Hammond B3 organ, my Mini-Moog and my Mellotron.”

[Source: Classic Hits Today]